ALL THINGS WORK FOR GOOD

Hey lovely people, welcome back to my blog,

romans-8-28

So for most of us we know Romans 8:28 by heart, we tend to quote it often especially when things  happen or are not happening the way we wanted, we can say it as a way of comforting ourselves or maybe reassuring ourselves that all is and will be well. In a day am sure God hears that verse being quoted back to him several times by his children all over the world in different languages (that’s A LOT), and so me being one of his children did just that today, I was busy reminding Him of his promise to me when the Holy Spirit stopped me (he is the BEST BTW) and brought to my attention that I was saying “all things work together for MY GOOD”, the important word here being MY. At first I was like what is wrong with that, isn’t that what the verse says? So thus began my quest to find out where I got the word ‘my’ from. I was so sure I had read it in one of the different version/translations of the Bible, being that the different versions/translations of the Bible have different ways of writing scriptures. So I went to my favorite translation of the Bible, the Amplified Bible, and read what it says, and this is what it says,

“We are assured and  know that [God becoming a partner in their labor] all things work together and are [fitting into a plan] for good to and for those who love God and all are called according to [His] design and purpose” Romans 8:28 AMP

So clearly there is no ‘my’ written, so then I decided to look at Kings James Version and it says

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose” Romans 8:28 KJV

Again no ‘my”, so then I decided to look at the New International Version and it says,

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him who have been called according to his purpose” Romans 8:28 NIV

Again as we can see no ‘my’, so lastly I looked at the Message Bible and it says,

“Meanwhile, the moment we get tired in the waiting, God’s Spirit is right alongside helping us along. If we don’t know how or what to pray, it doesn’t matter. He does our praying in and for us, making prayer out of our wordless sighs, our aching groans. He knows us far better than we know ourselves, knows our pregnant condition, and keeps us present before God.  That’s why we can be so sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good” Romans 8:26-28 MSG

So to my dismay none of them have written ‘MY GOOD’, which automatically brought the question, where did I get it from? So I went to the one who knows me better than I know myself, God, and I asked him where did I get my from?

I felt God say for me personally this was selfish thinking, the reason I was saying ‘my good’, is because I was making it about me, what I need and what I think should work for me, and not about God and his will being done in my life regardless of what it looked like and in the lives of the people around me. It was also a fear of letting God have full control over my life, because as

Isaiah 55:9 says “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts”

which means that God’s definition of good is different from the world’s, and the way He sees things working out is different. He sees the whole vision, while we (unless He has shown us more) only see a very small part of it, and from that think we know better than Him and should somehow tell Him how things need to go in order for it to work out for my good, and sometimes we can do this even without realizing. So yes we can never fully understand the way things work, but WAIT, we have our faith, trust and love in and for God, and can most DEFINITELY believe and lean on that and know IN ALL THINGS He is not out to harm me but protect me in every situation and circumstance.

So does that mean things will not work out the way I would like no, because the closer we get to God in relationship the more He reveals himself and His plans to us, which means the more time you spend with Him, the MOST SUPERIOR, ALL POWERFUL, KIND, JOYFUL, LOVING, GRACIOUS, MERCIFUL, EXTRAVAGANT, PURPOSEFUL, INTENTIONAL BEING (the list is endless), His nature and character is bound to rub off on us which means His thoughts become ours, His ways becomes ours,  His desires becomes ours, His attitudes becomes ours, His vision becomes ours, I could go on but I think we get the point. So all He needs from us is to seek him diligently, intentionally spend time with him and from there He comes in and takes over our life and we are never ever the same.

 

Prayer:

God is good all the time and all the time God is good. Who else is like you Abba, who can ever come close to being like you, NO ONE EVER, many have tried but failed. Then I just a lowly speck in this massive universe gets to serve you, be loved by you, be forgiven by you, be redeemed by you, be used by you, be made whole by you, be provided for by who, what have I done to deserve this NOTHING and nothing I will ever do will equate to what you have done for me and will do. All I can do is say Thank you Lord, Thank you that you first loved me even before anyone in this world loved me that you ordained my birth for a purpose so precious and divine, that NO ONE can ever take away.  I am willing to fulfill that purpose no matter the cost, I do not take this declaration lightly because I cannot fully know what is to come but I choose to trust in you and your Word both here on earth and in heaven, let heaven come down to earth in order for your will to be done in my life. I am ready and willing. I love you till eternity. AMEN

 

Be Blessed Lovely people, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

